SILT: Google’s Latest Gifts to Coders

This lady on the netbook is almost certainly perusing Google's coding gifts while being frustrated with Gentoo. She gets me. I took this photo at PayPal's Innovate conference a couple weeks ago and it's already my second-most popular photo on flickr. I dedicate this post to you, free netbook lady!


Work and life are trying to keep the SILT posts down, but no way, josé. Fight the power.

I don’t know if these are really the latest, but they’re pretty recent and boy are they handy.

  • I was thoroughly impressed by Google’s properties’ APIs, as demonstrated at the Google Code Playground. Seriously, there’s an incredible amount of data/functionality there.
  • I cannot wait to have something cool enough to code in Go, Google’s new programming language. It’s everything C++ could have been (in a much more perfect world). It mixes everything one could want from dynamic languages (e.g., Python) with the performance and compile-time checks of compiled languages. I’m really cheering for this one, hoping that Google’s backing brings forth a plethora of libraries and frameworks to leverage for practical purposes. Qt bindings or a web framework is what I’m seeking.
  • I’ve basically been relearning Python while using it for the biggest project I’ve done at work, yet. It’s really killing me in spots where there is some unwritten “Pythonic” way of doing something, and I’m met with implicit resistance in doing it the way I had thought made sense. Enter Google’s Style Guides (Python | All). It may not seem like much, but it really helps in those situations when the decision seems arbitrary, but somehow like you might regret making the wrong choice. The simple things, guys. Fundamentals.

As for things I am less grateful for, I am very frustrated with the fact that Gentoo is still on PHP 5.2, because 5.3 has a lot of sweet features, including much better crypto support (of which I am in dire need currently). PHP 5.3.1 is already out, and I can’t get 5.3.0? You guys call this bleeding edge?

Leave a Reply

