SILT: Fences, Pastebin gone crazy, networking gone mad edition

Augh, I battled some large networking demons today to get a Gentoo box to have multiple MACs and static IPs. Also, it would seem some .NET/Windows developers are only a few years behind my brain.

Fences in play at work

Fences in play at work

  1. Today I got around to installing Fences 1.0. It’s an application to organize your desktop by functionally giving you icon groups. It’s kind of like being able to have multiple folders open in the background. This is all relevant because this is one of the first items on my software-writing to-do list that I tried to implement.
    Actually, it was #2 after writing an online to-do list, like Remember the Milk, except theirs doesn’t integrate with Checklist for the Palm, like I had started to write (I got as far as reverse engineering and writing a parser and minimal editor for Checklist’s binary format. It’s at once freeing and frustrating that 99% of the ideas I come up with will be implemented by someone else, and a good portion of those implementations will be too good for me to challenge. I gave up on Windows desktop development after a summer of .NET gross-out.
    BTW, pretty sure KDE4 has this.
  2. This link summed up how to get multiple IPs in the best way. It’s pretty much a quick primer in using ifconfig to set up your network card in bridging mode. The link specifies ubuntu, but it worked on Gentoo (and should work on all modern distros).
  3. I installed a pastebin over the weekend for internal use at work. I used the tarball made available at pastebin.com. It took quite a bit of modification to get it working the way I wanted to, however. Most importantly when using the "file" storage engine, it actually does not run, dying with an error about follow up posts. The solution is to actually dig through the code and comment out the die() call, then set the $post["followups"] = array(); inside the isset($post["followups"]) if clause. I realize the explanation is kind of hazy, if you actually run into this problem, let me know. In pretty much all othe respects it’s a great piece of software, and the perfect balance of things I was looking for in pastebin.
  4. Advertisements

4 responses to “SILT: Fences, Pastebin gone crazy, networking gone mad edition

  1. Sorry you had problems with the pastebin code – the tarball is a little behind the live code, I will try to ensure it is updated soon!

  2. Oh, no problem at all. I had far more trouble with some django-based pastebins; those were completely unsalvageable. I just figured I would document the fix for anyone else googling. In fact, if you search up the error message pastebin dies with when switched to the file storage engine, you’ll see several stalled installations.

    As an aside, I’m continually impressed with this blogosphere thing and how it manages to draw a very respectable, relevant crowd to my humble posts. Thank you for your comment.

  3. I installed Fences and immediately thought of you. I’m glad there’s finally a little organization to your desktop!

  4. Kick-ass article, good looking weblog, added it to my favs.

Leave a Reply

